Wish I could go to Nat Party Conference..

for a good old fashioned protest!

I’m feeling another wave of bewilderment – it’s what I expected but it’s still so saddening and maddening to see it happening.

What worries me the most is the speed and multi-pronged nature of the attack.

Can all of our battles across sectors actually convey how truly awful the whole picture is? Can our separate battles create enough of a sense of crisis to stop them being elected again.

In less than two years they have significantly undermined:
Education
Health
Transport
ACC
Welfare
Work rights
Democracy local and national
Conservation and the environment
Justice
Youth development
Womens’ equity and rights
Energy
Tax rates

Basically the next decade and more.

2 responses to “Wish I could go to Nat Party Conference..

  1. yea – some of my friends want to bet they’ll win one more election.
    I’m trying to work out who the Gnats haven’t ticked off and whether I should take the odds.
    Certainly I’ve seen very few Governments so reviled, returned to Office!

  2. You missed a good one, Jan. Given only 2 days notice and advertising only through union and political party email lists and Frogblog and The Standard (strangely, the Labour MPs didn’t promote it on Red Alert), I thought a turnout of 500 was pretty impressive.

    And they were 500 very angry people.

Leave a Reply

