Queens Birthday Honours

I’m not a fan a honours systems but.. well done Jeanette. Not for the honour itself but for all the work you’ve done.

I do wonder though if this year’s list says something about how the National Party views women in this country. Sorry that was disingeuous. I think this year’s list demonstrates this government’s contempt for women. Roughly it looks to me as if twice the number of men, compared to women, are deemed to have contributed things of value to this country.

According to the last time use survey women spend 2 hours a day more on unpaid work, but I guess this government doesn’t value that.

These lists do beg the question – what do we value as a country and secondarily who do we think reflect those values. If I had to have a list, my list would not have included the Mad butcher. It would certainly have included Sue Bradford.

Leave a Reply

